Canadian Football League Coach of the Year | | Official Site of the Canadian Football League
Canadian Football League Coach of the Year Staff

WINNIPEG -- Calgary Stampeders general manager and head coach John Hufnagel has been named the 2014 recipient of the Annis Stukus Trophy, awarded to the Canadian Football League Coach of the Year. Hufnagel was presented with the honour earlier today by CFL President and Chief Operating Officer, Michael Copeland at a luncheon in Winnipeg, Manitoba as part of the CFL’s annual league meetings.

“John Hufnagel’s Stampeders completed one of the greatest seasons in Canadian Football League history with the ultimate prize in Canadian football: a Grey Cup victory", said Copeland. “Throughout the year, he overcame adversity and put his team in a position to succeed week in and week out.  On behalf of our Board of Governors, and our entire league, we congratulate John on this tremendous honour.”

Hufnagel led the Stampeders to their seventh championship in franchise history, their first since 2008; coincidentally the same year Hufnagel originally won the Annis Stukus Trophy.

The Calgary Stampeders showed off their skill as well as tested their team depth in several positions throughout the season. The Stampeders started Bo Levi Mitchell, the league’s youngest starting quarterback, with an offence that had to overcome multiple injuries to key players during the 2014 campaign. Even with these barriers, the Stampeders could not be slowed down, as they continued to run an effective and efficient offence in the CFL; leading the league in points scored, most touchdowns scored and most net yards rushing.

The Calgary Stampeders tied a franchise mark in 2014 with 15 victories, eight of them coming away from McMahon Stadium. After claiming first place in the West, the Stampeders hosted their provincial rivals, the Edmonton Eskimos in the West Final where they defeated them for the fourth time, sweeping the season series and advancing to the 102nd Grey Cup.

In the championship game in Vancouver, the Stampeders closed out their season in style with a 20-16 victory over the Hamilton Tiger-Cats. This marked Hufnagel’s second Grey Cup Championship as head coach in his third Grey Cup game.

The CFL Coach of the Year is selected by 65 voting members of the Football Reports of Canada. Hufnagel, the current longest tenured head coach in the CFL received 43 first place votes.

2014 -- John Hufnagel, Calgary
2013 -- Corey Chamblin, Saskatchewan
2012 -- Scott Milanovich, Toronto
2011 -- Wally Buono, B.C.
2010 -- Jim Barker, Toronto
2009 -- Marc Trestman, Montreal
2008 -- John Hufnagel, Calgary
2007 -- Kent Austin, Saskatchewan
2006 -- Wally Buono, B.C.
2005 -- Tom Higgins, Calgary
2004 -- Greg Marshall, Hamilton
2003 -- Tom Higgins, Edmonton
2002 -- Don Matthews, Montreal
2001 -- Dave Ritchie, Winnipeg
2000 -- Charlie Taaffe, Montreal
1999 -- Charlie Taaffe, Montreal
1998 -- Ron Lancaster, Hamilton
1997 -- Don Matthews, Toronto
1996 -- Ron Lancaster, Edmonton
1995 -- Don Matthews, Baltimore
1994 -- Don Matthews, Baltimore
1993 -- Wally Buono, Calgary
1992 -- Wally Buono, Calgary
1991 -- Adam Rita, Toronto
1990 -- Mike Riley, Winnipeg
1989 -- John Gregory, Saskatchewan
1988 -- Mike Riley, Winnipeg
1987 -- Bob O’Billovich, Toronto
1986 -- Al Bruno, Hamilton
1985 -- Don Matthews, B.C.
1984 -- Cal Murphy, Winnipeg
1983 -- Cal Murphy, Winnipeg
1982 -- Bob O’Billovich, Toronto
1981 -- Joe Faragalli, Saskatchewan
1980 -- Ray Jauch, Winnipeg
1979 -- Hugh Campbell, Edmonton
1978 -- Jack Gotta, Calgary
1977 -- Vic Rapp, B.C.
1976 -- Bob Shaw, Hamilton
1975 -- George Brancato, Ottawa
1974 -- Marv Levy, Montreal
1973 -- Jack Gotta, Ottawa
1972 -- Jack Gotta, Ottawa
1971 -- Leo Cahill, Toronto
1970 -- Ray Jauch, Edmonton
1969 -- Frank Clair, Ottawa
1968 -- Eagle Keys, Saskatchewan
1967 -- Jerry Williams, Calgary
1966 -- Frank Clair, Ottawa
1965 -- Bud Grant, Winnipeg
1964 -- Ralph Sazio, Hamilton
1963 -- Dave Skrien, B.C.
1962 -- Steve Owen, Saskatchewan
1961 -- Jim Trimble, Hamilton

The Annis Stukus Trophy has recognized excellence in coaching since 1961 when Hamilton’s Jim Trimble first won the award.

The annual CFL Coach of the Year Dinner was hosted for 40 years by the Edmonton Eskimo Football Club. The Eskimos Alumni Association presented a trophy in honour of the Eskimos first coach, the legendary Annis Stukus. Winners are selected by Members of The Football Reporters of Canada.

As a player with the Toronto Argonauts from 1935 to 1941, Stukus, along with brothers Bill and Frank, helped the Boatmen to Grey Cup victories in 1937 and 1938. Stukus enjoyed a successful 12-year playing career excelling at six different positions, including quarterback.

Making the transition to coaching, Stukus was hired to lead the Edmonton Eskimos as their first coach and general manager in 1949 and even performed place kicking duties for the club. In 1953, Annis moved west to Vancouver to become the first head coach of the B.C. Lions, a job he would hold until 1956.

He is a member of the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame and in 1974 was inducted into the Canadian Football Hall of Fame as a builder. Stukus passed away in May, 2006 at the age of 91 at his home in Canmore, Alberta.
Fan Poll
Can the Edmonton Eskimos win another Grey Cup in 2016?
1) Yes
2) No
3) Too early to tell