HISTORY >> Grey Cup >> 1989 | CFL.ca | Official Site of the Canadian Football League
HISTORY >> Grey Cup >> 1989

1989 – Saskatchewan Roughriders 43, Hamilton Tiger-Cats 40

Venue: SkyDome
Location: Toronto, ON
Date: November 26
Attendance: 54,088
Winning Coach: John Gregory
Outstanding Offensive Player: Kent Austin, QB, Saskatchewan
Outstanding Defensive Player: Chuck Klingbeil, DT, Saskatchewan
Outstanding Canadian: David Ridgway, K, Saskatchewan

The 1980s concluded with one of the greatest games in the history of the Grey Cup. Playing at the newly opened SkyDome in Toronto, the Saskatchewan Roughriders needed a last-second field goal to win just their second title in club history.

The Hamilton Tiger-Cats jumped out to a 6-0 lead on a pair of field goals by Paul Osbaldiston. Following a Terry Baker punt that put the Roughriders on the scoreboard, Ticats quarterback Mike Kerrigan hit Tony Champion with a 13-yard pass to give Hamilton a 13-1 lead.

The second quarter produced five consecutive drives by both teams which resulted in touchdowns. Kent Austin completed a five-yard pass to Ray Elgaard for Saskatchewan’s initial major. But Hamilton responded when Kerrigan connected with running back Derrick McAdoo on a 30-yard play.

The fireworks continued when Austin combined with Jeff Fairholm for a 75-yard touchdown. Kerrigan responded with a Hamilton scoring drive that ended when McAdoo plunged into the end zone on a goal-line carry.

The Roughriders added another touchdown in the final minute of the second half when Austin hit Donald Narcisse on a five-yard pass. Narcisse beat Hamilton receiver Earl Winfield on the play, who was subbing for an injured Lance Shields. The Ticats led 27-22 in the half.

Things slowed down a tad in the third quarter. The teams exchanged field goals before the Roughriders moved out in front. Osbaldiston’s conceded safety was followed by a Tim McCray one-yard score giving the Roughriders a 34-30 lead.

The teams exchanged field goals again in the fourth quarter before Saskatchewan’s Dave Ridgway split the uprights from 20 yards away to put the Roughriders in front by a converted touchdown.

But the Ticats were not finished. With 44 seconds remaining, Champion made a spectacular backward diving catch in the end zone to tie the score at 40.

That was enough time for the Roughriders to put together a winning drive. Ridgway lofted a 35-yard field goal with two seconds remaining to give the Roughriders the victory.

In the week leading up to the game Ridgway told reporters he didn’t want the game to be decided by his foot in the final minute. In the end that’s exactly what happened, but Ridgway got through the moment unscathed.

After it was over, 15 Grey Cup records had been tied or set, most notably total points by both teams in one game.

40-Yard Dash
RANKNamePosSchoolTime (s)
1  Shaquille Murray-Lawrence RB  UNLV  4.41
2  Lemar Durant WR  Simon Fraser  4.55
3  Nic Demski WR  Manitoba  4.56
4  Dillon Campbell RB  Wilfrid Laurier  4.57
5  Mikhail Davidson WR  Montreal  4.57
6  Melvin Abankwah WR  Saint Mary's  4.61
7  Addison Richards WR  Regina  4.63
8  Andrew Johnson WR  Fort Lewis  4.66
9  Chris Ackie DB  Wilfrid Laurier  4.67
10  Kienan Lafrance RB  Manitoba  4.68

View Full 40-Yard Dash Results >    

Fan Poll
Who's your pick to win the 40-yard dash?
1) Tevaughn Campbell, DB, Regina
2) Shaquille Murray-Lawrence, RB, UNLV
3) Kahlen Branning, DB, Regina
4) Dexter Janke, DB, Okanagan Sun
5) Addison Richards, REC, Regina
6) Other